Gone Fishin’…

The past two weeks of El Salvador life deserves a lot of updating! I found myself hopping from the city, to the former guerrilla headquarters, mountain town of Perquin, back to the city, to the colonial town of Suchitoto and then up to the amazing, progressive FMLN supporting town of Cinquera.. The experiences I had there were many, very rich and mostly unexpected.. BUT they need more time than I have now.. Why? Because I am off to the Caribbean!!

One border down, one to go!!

I arrived in Nicaragua from San Salvador yesterday after 7 buses, 10 hours and 10$ in bus fees..not bad. Was a long haul, there were highs and lows;  lots of sweat, vomiting out of windows (not me thank you very much!), intimate seating arrangements, border hassles (crossed through Honduras and Nicaragua), near death experiences (for the man was almost hit by our bus) and 2 rounds of watermelon. Not to mention the 16 times I cursed the existence of my huge backpack and various things hanging off of it.

This time, my experience in Leon is going to be limited and I will return. I am headed to Managua (capital city) to catch an overnight bus to Bluefields on the Caribbean coast, after which I will catch a boat to the blessed Little Corn Island http://en.wikipedia.or/wiki/Little_Corn_Island to meet up with some travelling friends for some fiesta, fun and sun!

As far as I know, internet and power are limited there so expect an in-depth account of El Salvador when I return to civilization…

Hasta Luego Viches!!

~ by lippygypsy on July 12, 2010.

Leave a comment